What is NOC?

IMM Newsletters Picture 2 (1627 × 729, 像素) (4)

Your National Occupation Classification (NOC) code is the number the job is listed under in Canada’s official job classification system. Every ten years, the National Occupational Classification (NOC) undergoes a major structural revision whereby the framework of the Classification and the existing occupational groups are reviewed. The release of the NOC 2021 will be the product of this 10-year cycle and will reflect changes in the economy and in the nature of work.

The NOC 2021 is the result of a major revision cycle that involved in-depth research, analysis, and assessment of the input received through consultations and occupational research. Input from the public and stakeholders has been an integral part of the revision process.

The NOC 2021 was developed in partnership with Statistics Canada and will be published on Employment and Social Development Canada’s (ESDC) website in the coming months. However, in order to provide organizations and programs with enough time to make a proper transition from NOC 2016 to NOC 2021, the latter is expected to be implemented and become the official classification used by ESDC in the second half of 2022.

About NOC 2021 (the current NOC):

The new NOC 2021 includes structural changes such as the addition, aggregation or merging, and splitting of unit groups as well as the reorganization of certain groups across broad occupational categories and Training, Education, Experience and Responsibilities (TEER) categories. The new NOC 2021 also:

  • Overhauls the current four-category NOC “Skill level” structure by introducing a new six-category system representing the level of Training, Education, Experience and Responsibilities (TEER) required for entry in an occupation.
  • Adopts a five-tiered hierarchical arrangement of occupational groups with successive levels of disaggregation containing broad occupational categories, major groups, sub-major groups, minor groups, and unit groups.
  • Introduces a brand new five-digit codification system to replace the current four-digit system.

TEER categories and examples of jobs


Occupation type



Management occupations

Advertising, marketing and public relations managers
Financial managers


Occupations that usually require a university degree

Financial advisors, Software engineers


Occupations that usually require

  • a college diploma
  • apprenticeship training of 2 or more years, or
  • supervisory occupations

Computer network and web technicians, Medical laboratory technologists


Occupations that usually require

  • a college diploma
  • apprenticeship training of less than 2 years, or
  • more than 6 months of on-the-job training

Dental assistants and dental laboratory assistants


Occupations that usually require

  • a college diploma
  • apprenticeship training of 2 or more years, or
  • supervisory occupations

Home child care providers
Retail salespersons and visual merchandisers


Occupations that usually need short-term work demonstration and no formal education

Landscaping and grounds maintenance labourers
Delivery service drivers and door-to-door distributors

Disclaimer: The information from the newsletter is directly derived from IRCC. The material and information contained on this website is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as professional advice. Although best efforts have been made to ensure the accuracy of the information at the time of writing, we cannot guarantee the completeness or accuracy of all information. As information may change without notice, always refer to Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada’s website for the most accurate and up-to-date information.