Update on National Occupational Classification


On November 16, 2022, we’re switching to the 2021 version of the National Occupational Classification (NOC). This means that

  • the current NOC 2016 skill type and skill level structure (NOC 0, A, B, C and D) will be replaced with a 6-category system representing the training, education, experience and responsibilities (TEER) needed to work in an occupation
  • 4-digit occupation codes will become 5-digit codes
  • we’ll update the eligibility criteria for all programs that use the NOC

New TEER categories

Programs that used the NOC skill type or levels will now use TEER categories.

  • Most jobs will stay in the TEER category that is equal to the skill level in the table below.
  • Some jobs may change to a different TEER category.
  • Skill level B jobs may become TEER 2 or TEER 3 jobs.

You can view the full list of occupation classifications under NOC 2021 on the ESDC site. Choose “NOC 2021” from the drop-down menu to search for your occupation.


Resource: https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/immigrate-canada/express-entry/eligibility/find-national-occupation-code-2021.html


Disclaimer: The information from the newsletter is directly derived from IRCC. The material and information contained on this website is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as professional advice. Although best efforts have been made to ensure the accuracy of the information at the time of writing, we cannot guarantee the completeness or accuracy of all information. As information may change without notice, always refer to Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada’s website for the most accurate and up-to-date information.